Happy New Year!!!!

1 Jan

After an amazing night with my close friends seeing in the New Year eating, drinking and dancing, this morning

New Year's day

New Year’s day

surprisingly found me without a headache and even more surprisingly the sun was shining!!!  Yes you read that right. the sun was shining!!!!!!! Wow is this the weather we can expect from the new year?? No rain for a whole day???

My friend Paola wanted to walk too so we arranged to meet on the hill. Me with Rudy and Rio and Paola with Crash the beautiful Dalmation. As I drove up the lane toward the car park I was slightly concerned to see the amount of cars everywhere!!! Hmm these fair weather walkers!!! I didn’t think I was going to find anywhere to park, Rudy was jumping up with his paws on the back seat eager to be free and Rio was whining incessantly!!!

I finally found a space and we got out of the car and set off to meet Paola. The hill was swarming with hundreds of people, those in the distance looking like tiny ants against the vast backdrop of the hill. It was an absolutely stunning day, the sky was blue and the sun shining!! Joy!! After weeks of constant rain and gale force wind today reminded me how much I love being out in the fresh air walking the dogs. Simple things I guess!!

I lost count of the amount of dogs we saw and Crash, Rudy and Rio got on really well, running around together and meeting and greeting all their new friends. I’m used to my 2 running off miles away from me and I can be (fairly) sure they will always find me and come back…after all they know who feeds them !!! Crash it seems likes to cover the ground too and because he is so big he runs like a racehorse!!!

At one point on the walk we turned and saw Crash fairly close behind us playing with another dog so we carried on walking. Literally about 2 minutes later we looked and he was nowhere to be seen!!!! We were on the flat part of the hill on the top so we could see for miles but there was no sign of him at all!!! We waited a few minutes and decided that he would find his way back to us so we continued on our hike. It is a route Paola and Crash do very regularly so we weren’ t worried.

I think we walked for about another 10 or 15 minutes heading back towards the car and suddenly Paola shouted and there was Crash!!!! Running happily toward us, not concerned in the slightest, tail aloft looking happy as could be!!! Being of the same ilk Paola asked Crash where he had been and not getting a sensible answer we just let it go and all trundled on!!!

Sunny day at last and they bury their heads!!

Sunny day at last and they bury their heads!!

All in all it was a lovely walk and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Sadly it’s back to work tomorrow after a lovely long break and back to the frantic lunch time rush!!

3 Responses to “Happy New Year!!!!”

  1. janh1 January 2, 2013 at 11:33 pm #

    Happy New Year and big doggy cuddles to RudeBoy and Rio. Wasn’t the sunshine *wonderful*??? Everybody was out making the most of it. Sounds like doggy Piccadilly Circus up on Nottingham Hill. 🙂

    Bet it’ll be raining next Sunday morning…but d’you know what? I don’t care!! 🙂

  2. 2browndawgs January 3, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    Happy New Year to you! I would freak out if our dogs ran out of sight. I don’t even like it when they do it while they are hunting. I realize that depending on cover, it is necessary. But I still get nervous…lol.

    • Jane Parry January 3, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

      Really? Rudy and Rio spend a lot of our walks out of sight!!! The whistle is a life saver as 9 times out of 10 they come straight back to that…and the other 1 time they come but it takes them a bit longer…selective hearing!!!

Leave a Reply

