Rain, rain, go away…come back another day!!!!!

29 Dec

I had a get together last night with some close friends and my daughters and their friends. Small, cosy and easy. We ate, drank and were merry!! Rudy and Rio were good after they had calmed down when everyone arrived and yet again Sue proved to be more than usually appealing to Rudy!!!!! Bearing in mind he had done the usual meeting and greeting of the other guests with no out of the ordinary excess sniffing etc, when Sue and her husband arrived Rudy went into overdrive!!!! There is obviously something very pleasant about Sue and after a while Rudy had to be chastised and sat looking lovingly over at Sue for the rest of the evening!!!

I had to make them sit and wait in the kitchen while we ate as Rio had been sitting looking adoringly at whoever had the best looking plate of food!!!!

All in all thou they were good and I was pleased everything went well. For the entire duration of the party ( and many days and weeks beforehand ) the rain lashed down and the wind was howling!!!. We could hear it through the closed windows and I think we were all glad not to be out in it!!!

I wish!!!! Reality is slightly different!!

I wish!!!! Reality is slightly different!!

However this morning when I got up ( hangover in situ!! ) the weather was still the same!! To the extent when I opened the door so Rudy and Rio could go out for a wee, Rio went happily ( always easy) while Rudy stepped 1 paw out and then turned, looked up at me and walked back to the sofa, jumped up and went back to sleep!!!! I think his bladder is made of steel, he seems able to hold on for hours!!!!!

Eventually I decided the rain was probably set in for the day so there was no point waiting for respite!!! Rudy, Rio and I set off for our walk on Cleeve Hill ( still the cleanest option ). When we arrived there were a few cars in the car park so I hoped I would bump into someone to chat to.

Hmm… maybe not!!! The wind was ridiculously strong and made the rain which was lashing down, like needles hitting your face!!! I obviously had DWU on but the wind kept blowing the hood off my head added to which the rain totally covered my glasses, rendering me almost blind!!!! As I stumbled along bent forward to counteract the force 10 gale I was walking into, I lost count of the amount of times I slipped, tripped and almost slid over, twisting my already aching back this way and that!! Oh the joy of dog walking in the winter I thought!!!

Yes there really is nothing like it!!! You and your dogs get soaked every day. Countless towels need washing on a daily basis. Your car and house stink of that truly awful “wet dog odour”. Your hair and complexion take a daily battering. You learn to walk slightly bow legged to take into account the soggy jeans . Your feet are the worse for wear always enclosed and slightly damp in wellies. All in all it’s probably a good thing I didn’t bump into anyone really!!! I mean how could they compare with my uber glamorous look!!!!!!

6 Responses to “Rain, rain, go away…come back another day!!!!!”

  1. Nicki December 29, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

    Hmmm, the way you are selling it Jane, I think it might be a while before I get a dog!

    • Jane Parry December 29, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

      Doesn’t paint a pretty picture does it??? Keeps u fit thou!!

  2. Googie December 29, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    I do love your blogs I can see you now up there in the wind and rain, working at the yard next to golf club for 6 years I feel your pain some days you can’t even feel your body kep up the good work the dogs seem to love It xxx

    • Jane Parry January 1, 2013 at 6:12 pm #

      Thanks Goog it’s nice to get some feedback xx

  3. 2browndawgs January 1, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

    Walking dogs in the rain is no fun. I guess I am happy we get mostly snow in the winter. But then the snow turns all crusty and that is no fun either. 🙂 Happy New Year to you!

    • Jane Parry January 1, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

      Happy New Year to you too!!! And then the snow melts so I guess you end up with the wet then too!!! Still it was SUNNY today!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

