Catch me if you can!!

10 Dec

A few times this week whilst walking Rudy and Rio I have noticed a change in Rio’s behaviour. He is 20 months old now and seems to be going through a period where he has to assert himself with other dogs that are younger and smaller than him

What me??

What me??

He is such a happy friendly dog and always rushes over to greet new dogs and people that at first I didn’t really notice. But it seems he feels the need to roll the other dog over whilst “playing”. It all starts well enough and all concerned are happy. Then when I call Rio to carry on the walk he sort of looks at me in a challenging way while still chasing his opponent!!

I call him..he wags his tail..runs in circles…ignores me..I call him again…he wags his tail…runs in circles..I’m sure you get the picture!! So now out with the big guns!!! I now call him in my best “Don’t mess with me” voice while giving him “the look”, head tilted peering at him over the glasses, teeth starting to clench!!!

He dances in front of me just out of my reach, tail wagging madly, “smiling”,happy as can be, knowing he is being naughty!!! It’s almost as if he wants me to chase him!! He knows I am cross so thinks if he can turn it into a game and make me smile all will be forgiven!!!

It’s very frustrating as he won’t come to me but also because I have to stop myself smiling because he does look comical!! Finally he came back and we had a chat. I told him firmly that if he carried on misbehaving he would have to go on his lead. My friend Sarah was walking with me and stood patiently listening and then asked me kindly, as you would a senile old woman, “Do you think he understood all that??!!”  “Of course ” I said completely missing the sarcasm to start with!!

Yes I'm listening to every word!!!

Yes I’m listening to every word!!!

A while later I decided to put him on the lead for a short time anyway and instead of the usual pulling he walked beautifully!! Almost as if he wanted me to do it. As is he knew he needed to calm down and couldn’t do it himself??

I hope this stage will soon be over for all our sakes and he will be back to his usual playful self and stop being a pain in the ….!!!!!

If you know of any clever tricks to prevent this challenge please let me know!!! And if you like the blog please share. Thanks

4 Responses to “Catch me if you can!!”

  1. 2browndawgs December 10, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I am finally getting around to say “hi”. 🙂

    They all seem to go through it I think. Storm still tries the racing and she is 5…lol.

    I have used treats to get them to come to heel and sit. It is just a reinforcement of obedience if you train that way. I even use it in our yard when the dogs are young. Since we also train hunt test with ecollar, that also reinforces recall but when walking and in the yard I usually just use treats. Once solid I wean off treats and go to heavy praise.

    • Jane Parry December 10, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

      Thanks for the advice. I think he is just testing me at the moment to see who is boss? I remember Rudy doing the same. he is 2 and half now so seems to have come out the other side!!

  2. Gemma December 10, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    Sounds very familiar although I am not talking about dogs !!!

    • Jane Parry December 10, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

      I bet!!!

      On Mon, Dec 10, 2012 at 12:35 PM, mydailyta

Leave a Reply

