Lights, Camera, Action…

27 Nov

Dogs get everwhere!! Soap operas, films, books, adverts, cartoons. Who hasn’t cried and laughed in equal measures to Homeward Bound  with american bulldog Chance , golden retriever Shadow and sassy the cat. The story of their trek across America and all the trials and tribulations along the way had us on the edge of our seat.

Homeward Bound

Who didn’t Boo at Cruella DeVil  in 101 Dalmations?? Pongo and Perdita doing their best to provide for their enormous brood despite times being hard??!!

Marley and me would have challenged even the hardest of hearts to stay strong. I remember I was on a plane going on holiday  when I saw it!! I felt a complete fool snivelling away until I turned to the huge guy sitting in the next seat and saw him wiping  away a tear surreptitiously!! I passed him a tissue and we said no more about it!!!

In the film Turner and Hooch I think we all felt Tom Hanks’ discomfort when the Dogue de Bordeaux playing his canine sidekick shook his head and yards of doggy dribble flew into Tom’s face!!! Disgusting!!! Not forgetting Beethoven the giant St Bernard, Shiloh the beautiful Beagle and don’t even get me started on Lassie!!!! That dog was pure genius!!! How many children did that dog save from mine shafts?? Just how many potentially disastrous situations did she prevent?? And all while looking gorgeous, not a hair out of place!!!

Then we had Little Willy ( !! ) Ethel’s bug eyed Pug and Roly, Sharon’s Poodle in Eastenders ( I think Sharon and Roly went to the same hairdresser!! ) not forgetting Wellard the Belgian Shepherd. Schmeichel the Great Dane won our hearts  in Coronation Street and we felt Chesney’s pain when he died.

Another thing that makes me chuckle are the names given to these canine companions. I mean Little Willy?? Surely enough to give him a complex? What if Wellard was actually a wimp? And there must have been other footballers with easier names to spell!!

But they are not as crazy as some celebrity dog names. What about Christina Aguilera and her 2 Papillons Chewy & Stinky? Or Mariah Carey and her Jack Russell Jackson.P. Mutley? Or Geri Haliwell and her Pomeranian Daddie? Why do we choose the names we do for our dogs?

I know when choosing my own dog’s names I struggled. You want a catchy name for when you are calling them back, nothing too long or by the time you have uttered it the dog has disappeared from view, never to be seen again!!

I had already decided on the name Rudy before I even saw him but Rio was harder and is actually from his Pedigree, but the 2 ” R ” ‘s together can become a tongue twister at times!!

I met a lady walking the other day that had 2 enormous bulldogs called Gary and Tim!! I couldn’t bring myself to ask why as I figured they had enough on their plate already!!

Imagine a Great Dane called Tiny or a Chihuahua called Rambo. An Afghan hound L’Oreal? A Boxer Romeo ( He’s a lover not a fighter! ). A Whippet” Chunky?”. A Daschund ” Lanky? ” .A Corgi “Quennie?”. A Shar Pei “Botox?”. I’m sure you will come up with your own!!

L’Oreal??

2 Responses to “Lights, Camera, Action…”

  1. animal trainer December 4, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    It’s in reality a nice and helpful piece of info. I’m glad that you shared this useful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

    • Jane Parry December 5, 2012 at 10:54 am #

      Oh thank you so much!! Glad you enjoyed it, keep reading!!

Leave a Reply

